related links:







short resume [ pdf ]
30 page vitae [
pdf ]

Dr. Ted Selker came to the MIT Media lab in September of 1998. From 1999 until he left in June 2008 he was an Associate Professor and the Director of the Context Aware Computing Lab. His Context aware computing group created 48 reserach platforms to demonstrate that systems can recognize and respect human desires and intentions accross many natural sceanrios.  The group is recognized for its work in creating environments that use sensors and artificial intelligence to create so-called virtual sensors; adaptive models of users to create keyboardless computer scenarios.  Ted  also directed  Counter Intelligence, a forum discussing kitchens and domestic technology, lifestyles and supply changes as a result of technology.  Ted created the  Industrial Design Intelligence forum to discuss the need to understand cognitive science and quantitative experiments in doing product design.  Additionally, from March 2004, to June 2008, Ted served as co-Director of the MIT/Caltech Voting Project.

Prior to joining MIT faculty, Ted directed the User Systems Ergonomics Research Lab at IBM Research, where he became IBM Fellow in 1996. He has served as a consulting professor at Stanford University, taught at Hampshire, University of Massachusetts at Amherst and Brown Universities and worked at Xerox, PARC and Atari Research Labs.

Ted's research has contributed to products ranging from notebook computers to operating systems. For example, his design of the TrackPoint in-keyboard pointing device is used in many notebook computers, his visualizations have been responsible for performance and usability improvements in products and his adaptive help system was the basis of products as well.   Ted’s work has resulted in numerous awards, patents, and papers and has often been featured in the press.  Ted was co-recipient of the Computer Science Policy Leader Award for Scientific American 50 in 2004 and the American Association for People with Disabilities Thomas Paine Award for his work on voting technology in 2006.